TEXAS STATE INSPECTION

official texas vehicle inspection stationSchertz Car Care Center is an authorized Texas State Vehicle Safety Inspections location. While we can't provide a complete legal description of the state inspection process in a single web page, the checklist below does spell out all the items we are required by law to inspect.

State Safety Inspection checklist:

  • Check for broken or burned out turn signals, brake lights, tail Lights, license plate light and reflectors
  • Check for missing or broken gas cap & seal
  • Check operation and condition of seat belts
  • Check parking brake function (does it holds the car)
  • Window Tint (1988 or newer only, check too dark/below AS1 line on front windshield)
  • Rear view mirror
  • Interior high beam indicator, high beam switch, turn signal indicators
  • Check wiper blade condition and operation
  • EGR, TAC, PCV components (present/working)
  • Check operation and condition of power steering and power brakes
  • Check EVAP cannister and air pump
  • Check operation and condition of headlights
  • Exhaust System (including manifold, check for leaks, proper hangers)
  • Check catalytic converter function (1984 or newer)
  • Check tires (rim condition, tire condition, minimum tire tread, all lug nuts, splits/cracks)
  • You must present proof of insurance at the time of inspection
  • during the driving portion of the State Inspection Test, the vehicle will be checked for steering slack or binding, horn operation, brake stopping distance and parking brake function


Pricing for state inspections are set by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

All vehicles 2-24 years of age - $39.75
Vehicles new than 2 years, or 24 years and older - $14.50
Diesel vehicles - $14.50
Motorcycles, Mopeds, Trailers - $14.50
Out of state - +$1.00
For more information call us of check out the following link http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/vi/index.htm
 

CALL US AT (830) 627-9800

SERVICE LIST